It Would Be a Hoot

Posted: May 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

Last week I went for a walk one evening and geeked out just a bit. I got a library card.

The way I see it, I live a ten minute walk from the library, I read… a lot, and I’m trying to save money for you know, the important things in life.

(… a new suit and a boat load of crystals to stone it)

I went looking specifically for two books, Live Right Four Your Type and Wheat Belly. I was put on a waiting list for one and grabbed the other as well as a few chick lit novels right away to read. I noticed the dvd section and decided to browse away and came up with an interesting looking documentary.

14617-bodybuilder_and-e

The Bodybuilder and i follows the grand masters class training for the Fame ‘06 show. It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, it was more about mending the relationship between the abandoned son (filmmaker) and his pretty much deadbeat dad (the bodybuilder).

Anyway, the son interviewed all the big contenders who were up against his dad. One of them… I believe the one from Florida… but like i said, wasn’t what I was expecting so I wasn’t fully paying attention… had the best quote ever. The son was asking everyone the same question, how did you end up being a grand masters bodybuilder. His response was probably the best answer I’ve ever heard to why he took up competing.

I thought it would be a hoot

I laughed (alone… to myself…) so hard at that. I’ve always seen the people backstage who take competing so seriously, yet I look back through my photos and most of mine are well… less than serious.

P7120013 Yes, competing can be a roller coaster of emotions. I’m not denying that in any way shape or form, but when you compete for the right reasons it really is just one big…. hoot.

The training and diet can be hard, but when you find a group of friends who “get it”, or a team to support you, or your family just throws up their arms in defeat on thinking you’re going to “go back to normal” it becomes so much more than just competing.

atlantics 013 That’s exactly where I feel like i am right now.

Competing isn’t just a one time thing anymore, it’s not something I do a few times a year then switch into offseason mode. It’s a daily thing. Competing not only on stage, but every single day with myself to improve and get just a little bit better.

I still remember my first show, I was called on stage as one of the top five for the inside fitness magazine “transformation challenge”. They did the final vote by audience applause. They give my story and wait for it… wait for it… you could have heard a pin drop. Then a few sad, lonely golf claps. Yeah, that’s what I get for not knowing a single person in the “industry” or having any family there.

transformation When I stepped on stage at Atlantics it was the total opposite. I heard (and saw) the coach in the front row yelling small changes to both Julie and I… but then I heard my name… from other parts of the room. I actually knew people in the audience. I had friends, and family and support… Suddenly everything about this went from a solo sport in my head to anything but.

It’s been nothing short of crazy how competing has changed for me over the years, but when it comes down to it, it’s still about the same thing to me. Improving myself every day, everytime I step on stage…. and having fun.

During my one major meltdown last prep (you know, the one that resulted in three days off from the gym a few weeks out) I emailed my coach and kept saying I didn’t know why I was putting so much pressure on myself, competing was about having fun and personal goals yet for some reason I was losing sight of that. I needed a gentle reminder about WHY I was doing this and what kept pushing me forward.

And simply put by a grand masters bodybuilder…. It’s a hoot. And I love it. Weird.

capclassic 035

Have you ever taken up something because you thought it would “be a hoot”?

What’s your passion?

Comments
  1. hahaha! love it!!!!!
    i have tried things i thought would be a hoot.
    the first-cheer leading at the collegiate level. my roommate was a cheerleader and i always thought cheer was NOT a sport. i used to laugh at her when she would complain of being sore or tired.
    then she dared me to try out for the team…..
    holy cow it was so much harder than i thought!but you know what? i made the team! (and then my XC coach found out and made me stick to one sport per season..)
    the second attempt–softball,in college.
    i was having a bad day while running and on a whim decided to try out for the softball team,just cause it would be a fun change of pace…
    well,seeing as i hadnt played competitive ball for 2 years,i knew i would still be a good player—
    first ball coach pops to me in outfield,i catch with my face,and break my nose…..
    the lesson i learned? stick to running…

    😀

Leave a Reply

