Why Start Now?

Posted: May 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve often been asked why I take progress photos.

You know… those mega unflattering photos at the ass crack of dawn (… okay, like 8 or 9 am now, which IS early considering I work nights) where I have done nothing more than removed the smudged mascara from under my eyes and attempted to put my hair in a ponytail/bobby pin and thrown on an (ill fitting) old black bikini I had laying around.

Before I started competing I had a scattering of photos from failed attempts at starting a new plan, a solid series where I actually did improve quite a bit in 2009 with one trainer. It was actually a Saturday morning routine with my then boyfriend, we would get up and move the chair in the living room and take eachother’s pics for our trainers at the time.

Um yeah, weirdest and most understanding relationship ever?

I’ve since mastered the self timer on several different cameras and have the whole routine of it all down to a science. Sometimes I admit it’s a bit of a pain… and I don’t want to… or I just feel blah and not so hot. But regardless I know if I don’t take the photos I’ll get a (gentle) reminder from the coach to send them in. In the end I’ve never regretted it. Sure it’s been a kick in the ass a few times to see the changes, good AND bad… but being able to look back and see where I’ve come from is really just proof of if you want something bad enough you really can get it.

jan 10 004may 22 rt side

It may not happen overnight… Or in 12 weeks… or with the latest fad diet… or even in a year.

But it will happen if you work at it every.single.day.

The good days, the bad days. The days when you end up at the bottom of an ice cream container and don’t know how you got there or the days when you step on stage knowing you busted your ass.

I don’t think I’ve ever posted the full up first ever progress photos from when I started with Joe. I didn’t start blogging until just after my first show and well, the photos aren’t pretty…. I know there was probably a side shot posted at some point. To me those are the less frightening ones, mostly because of where I (clearly) gain my weight. Hello muffin top.

jan 10 001

may 22 front

Originally when I opened this up to write I was intending to talk about what I did differently from that first prep until now. There’s a ton to write about, and I think that when I popped these first photos into writer as an add on to show the difference in my start from prep 1 to number 6 I had no idea I’d get so sidetracked on this… so yeah, change of plans.

Once upon a time I was a (slightly less) crazy girl who wanted to be like the girl in the magazines. Clearly to look like that year round I needed to compete at least once.

One time. I told myself that was it. I would do the prep, I would prove to myself, and more importantly everyone else, that I could put on some clear heels and a bikini and look badass. I hired the trainer, I took the before photos, I figured out my macros and was off to the gym full of enthusiasm.

It didn’t happen overnight, or in that first prep, or even the second (… or third…) but it happened. Over the years it became less about looking like the girls in the magazines and looking like the best Becca possible. It wasn’t about proving everyone else wrong, it was about proving myself wrong.

jan 10 003may 22 back

Believe me when I say it hasn’t always been easy. It’s been the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

More than once I’ve wanted to say &$%^ this &$^* I’m done. Grab a pizza and a case of beer and a tub of ice cream and flop on the couch…. and let’s be honest, that did happen a few times… but for every bad day, for every time I stumbled, I simply got back up and carried on.

It didn’t always happen right away. I would wallow, I would sulk, I would skip a few workouts and eat some more junk… but it never lasted. Something was more important to me than the temporary satisfaction. I wanted something solid, something tangible.

My attitude toward competing and improving myself physically has transferred over into my mental state and personal life too. It’s true what they say, start with small changes and they snowball.

It’s never the perfect time or situation…. since that first prep there was a bad breakup, work stress, vacations, the grand move, leaving my career…. but that one constant in my life was my training and I held onto that, perfect or not, it was there for me.

It’s been two and a half years since that first before photo was taken. Looking at the side by side shocks me all the time. I know I still have a long way to go, maybe it will take another 2 and a half years, or 5 years… or maybe less. Who really knows. All I really know for sure is if I haven’t quit yet, why start now?

Comments
  1. Janie says:

    Wow! I’m speechless. Amazing!

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow what an amazing transformation. People like to look at us and think it’s easy or think we’ve always been the way we have and that’s not true. I always get the “but you’re in such good shape and you can eat what you want.” Yes, I work my butt off to stay in shape. I know I have to and now I just love it and it’s a part of life. It didn’t just fall into my lap (yours either!) We’ve worked for it. I love it Becca, you’re a great role model!!

  3. Tara says:

    Your progress is unbelievable!! You look amazing 🙂

  4. Your progress is so awesome. Shit-If I looked as god damn good as you, I’d be taking my photos all the time. Bitches don’t need to ask why. Right then-let me stop off that vulgar stepping stool.

  5. redkeeney says:

    I don’t always feel like taking them either – but thank God we do because we can see a transformation like yours! It does spill over into other parts of life as well… I was nodding while reading your post. You look awesome.

  6. Wow. Do I need to say anything else than that? Wow. lol Your progress is amazing!!! So proud of you!

  7. Sandra says:

    Amazing! You have come such a long way. Very inspirational post and I can totally relate to it. I found some bikini pics of myself from 2 years ago and compared them to recent ones side by side. I had no idea that I had made such big improvements! You are so right; it will not happen over night, or even in a couple of weeks, but if you keep working on it, it WILL happen.

  8. Tess says:

    Thanks for the pep talk! You ROCK!

  9. Christina says:

    Amazingness! Thank you for this post!

    CB

    http://www.gofiguregirl.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

