That Almost In Between

Posted: May 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

It’s been a month since Atlantics. A whole freaking month. That doesn’t seem right to me.

atlantics9 It’s been a learning process… a humbling process… but one I survived rather well.

I think part of me just assumed by some miracle I’d be able to stuff myself full of cheese and bread (with a hefty side of wine) and have zero repercussions… Despite the fact I hadn’t had any dairy or gluten in almost six months, and minimal for the two years before that.

Umm… will I ever learn?

(most likely not)

mar 12 009 I’ve clearly come to accept, and more importantly embrace, this new “fad” lifestyle as my own forever and ever and ever and ever. I’m feeling totally awesome, I’m sleeping better, getting stronger and just in a really great place mentally and physically.

Today was my second to last GVT workout. The last time I will be doing deadlifts for at least the next month. From the first workout, until this one (that’s only 6 ‘leg workouts total) I increased my deadlift by 30 lbs. Um yeah. That’s what I’m talking about.

Yes, a lot of my strength gains are due to my increase in calories and decrease in cardio (… plus more rest days… or what seems like it anyway), but I feel like they’re solid gains. Tomorrow is my last Phase 1 GVT workout and then I can close the chapter on that. Friday will be a rest day, maybe a short cardio if anything to get me moving and then Saturday…

Oh Saturday…  GVT Phase 2 begins. Even less cardio, longer workouts, still the same principle of 10 sets of 6/5/4 reps… but it’s a different set up. I’m expecting the gains to come a little bit harder this time around, It’s going to be all about pushing that extra rep, throwing on another 2.5lb plate when I think I can’t lift another ounce.

I’m excited for the workout change, and really looking forward to the new challenge. I have no idea what prep will hold for me after the next 30 day cycle. All I know is this is the last round of GVT and then who knows…. I’m sure the coach will have something wonderful in store for me, but I’m not too worried about it. My main focus is on the next 30 days, and taking them one at a time. Mini goals, an extra rep and avoiding the wine.

lala 009 So bring on summer… the season of big gains, family trips, family visiting and…. the beachhhhhhh! (a huge motivator in avoiding said wine to keep the new bikini fitting over my behind)

What are your summer goals? Plans? Trips?!

Comments
  1. Donloree says:

    Dairy…ack! I still don’t know how to be friends with it. We have an on again, off again relationship. A little bit here and there works, but anything more than that an things are BAD! 🙂

  2. wooooohoooooo! Congrats on that DL PR Becca! ❤

  3. I feel the same way sometimes. I’m like-will I ever be able to eat what random foods again. Well not random-but certain foods. I think I’ve fully accepted what fuels and works for my body the best, though it was difficult.

Leave a Reply

