Annoying Misconceptions

Posted: June 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

This is a crazy sport. There’s no denying it. While it’s an individual (… in a way) sport, it requires possibly more time/dedication/craziness than any other sport because it’s not just the training, but diet too.

Dec 18 038 Most of the regulars at the gym (when I go anyway) know I compete or at the very least know I’m forever in the weight room with my notebook working my butt off, then (occasionally) finishing this up with cardio and can often be found at one of the tables in the entry way eating egg whites or chicken or steak.

It’s just the usual.

Today I stopped into the gym on my break for a quick 12 minutes of interval cardio. I was feeling stir crazy at work and this is a very productive cure for that. After my intervals I hopped on the treadmill to take advantage of the built in fans to cooldown before a quick stretch, change back into my work clothes and running out the door.

While i was plodding along a semi-regular-weekender came up to ask me how Atlantics went. I gave the quick rundown version, said yes I was competing again and figured that was that… but no. Oh no. That wasn’t the end at all. He decided to finish the conversation with

Oh… Well I don’t know much about dancing around on stage and looking pretty, I prefer to just lift heavy and work hard

Excuse me?

So I don’t lift heavy?

I don’t work hard?

I just… dance around on stage and look pretty?

Dec 18 014 On average you MIGHT get lucky to get 10-15 minutes of stage time per show.

The average prep is 12-24 weeks for most people.

I averaged about 2-2.5 hours a day 5 days a week at the gym training and doing cardio this prep from November until April.

Five months. 20 weeks. Taking the average of 2.25 hours/5 days a week. Meal prep approx 2 hours a week (not counting roasting turkeys weekly)

(Help me with the math here if I’m wrong Hollie)

225 hours in the gym.

40 hours in the kitchen.

phone 1792 265 hours of my life to step on stage for 10 minutes to dance around and look pretty.

I’m not complaining, if I didn’t love this sport I would step back and do something else.

But I am bitching about this comment (… and probably will continue to for quite sometime if I know me at all). I’ve heard it all, I’m shallow, my only goal in life is to look good in a bikini, etc etc… but it’s been awhile since I’ve heard anything like that. I thought for once my hard work was showing, my dedication was there and people were not only respecting my choice to compete, but respecting my work ethnic.

Then I get blow out of the water with that comment.

Awesome.

I’m hereby choosing to take comfort in knowing that the people who matter the most to me know how much work I put into this…. and the fact that I rarely to never see this person at the gym so hopefully I can avoid any more unwelcome comments.

Do people have any misguided misconceptions about you?

Comments
  1. Was he a meathead? He sounds like the biggest toolbag ever. One of your hamstrings works harder then him. That’s all I have to say about that.

  2. He’s probably jealous of your self-discipline. Bet he wishes he could compete in BB but knows he’s not dedicated enough…

  3. UGH!!! My brother competes (have I told you this?) and I KNOW the kind of work you put into it. I personally think that it takes a extremely disclipined and dedicated person – male or female – to participate. I seriously admire your commitment and courage to workout out as hardcore as you do and then get up there. Definitely NOT just “looking pretty.” I hope you told this tool to eff off (while batting your “pretty” eyelashes)!

  4. Michelle says:

    Will you delete my other comment?? LOL — it should say my name:

    UGH!!! My brother competes (have I told you this?) and I KNOW the kind of work you put into it. I personally think that it takes a extremely disclipined and dedicated person – male or female – to participate. I seriously admire your commitment and courage to workout out as hardcore as you do and then get up there. Definitely NOT just “looking pretty.” I hope you told this tool to eff off (while batting your “pretty” eyelashes)!

  5. Lisa says:

    People are clueless! Don’t give it a second thought.

  6. What a total deuche. I honestly don’t know how you do it, but I envy you for reals! An old friend of mine doesn’t compete but prefers to eat in prep mode 364 days a year…I don’t have that much discipline at all. Keep up your hard work, you ROCK!

  7. what????????
    dance and look pretty,eh?
    to him,ignorance MUST be bliss,cause there sure as heck aint no dancing on stage,and the road getting there does not require you to look pretty. it requires sweat,blood,tears and lots of hard work and DRIVE…
    all of which you have…so let him be ignorant and you keep on being you!
    rock on chica!!

  8. thefitwriter says:

    Ah yes. Last year, someone asked me if I was training for any running races. I explained no, I was prepping for bodybuilding (he knew this) and that I couldn’t really train for running races at the same time. He said: “oh, I know about *that*. I don’t mean that… *posturing*. I wondered if you were actually training for anything at the moment?”

    Needless to say, the chap in question is a fine Adonis of a man ;D haha

  9. Robyn says:

    DANCE AROUND AND LOOK PRETTY??!!! I don’t understand why people talk when they have no clue what they’re saying. I want to kick him in the shins.

Leave a Reply

