Thankful

Posted: July 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

So I guess it’s time to remove the password on this thing. I really only posted this to show someone a comparison and well, let’s just say I was shocked by the number of people who requested the password.

I was hesitant to post this… I don’t know why. I haven’t had any shame in my comparison posts before. But this one is like saying "look at how awful and not ready I was at my first show".

Anyway… Last week I got an email from the coach about being 18 weeks out. It was the typical email about getting serious and following our plans, etc etc…. And after reading it I honestly started to feel down on myself. I haven’t had a diet change since Atlantics. I still have lots of food, very little cardio and I’m still bulking.

At 18 weeks.

Every bit of my head is saying I’m not going to be ready. Even knowing last prep I didn’t plateau once (knock on wood…. Don’t want to kick myself on this) and the diet and training worked perfectly for my body, it’s just unnerving.

Then I did what I do best, compare.

The joy of having years of progress photos dating back… Years… Is that I can see the progress. It’s been a long road, but seeing this just makes me thankful. Thankful that I never gave up. that I never quit, even when I wanted to so badly so many times. At the time these first photos were taken, it wasn’t a lifestyle. I lived off convenience food, spent hours staring at the cupboard, ate out constantly with my then boyfriend.

I never believed I could do it… But I did. I did that one show and decided some changes had to be made. I put myself first and starting eating better food, feeding my mind and my body.

And now… 18 weeks out I see these photos compared to a few days out from my first show and can’t believe the change. It’s been just over two years since that day and yeah… Thankful.

may 10 side posejuly 7 rt side

may 10 front posejuly 7 front

So yes, leaner now than I was at my first show. If that’s not a wake up call that I’m going to be just fine come November (providing I do the work and all that jazz) I don’t know what is.

Now I supposed I should get my butt in gear and get to the gym. I’ve got some work to do.

Comments
  1. Your body has changed SO MUCH! You should seriously be so proud of yourself!

  2. I was so scared you had put your blog on private. I literally was like nooo, one of my favorite bloggers is leaving. I was going to message you today. Anywho-you look great and I’m glad you unlocked this post. Holy moly.

  3. Seriously awesome. Can I just say I’m actually excited that it will be November in 18 weeks? It’s been summer since March here and I’m freaking done with sweating my ass off just to get the mail.

  4. Robyn says:

    Progress pictures are such a great way to remind us of how far we’ve come! I do the same thing when I feel low. You are way leaner now than before your first comp – trust your training… you’re gonna be just fine! Can’t wait to see what you bring to the stage in November.

  5. Tenecia says:

    Love that comparing progress pics gives us the smack in the forehead we need sometimes! 🙂

    T.

  6. dotsie says:

    🙂 yay, i can read your blog again! i kinda got sad there!

Leave a Reply

