I Wish It Was Easier

Posted: July 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Everyone always says that the harder you work for something, the more worthwhile it is.

great Well you know what…. somedays I really just wish it was easy.

That I could take a day off and not worry about what I eat, not wake up every morning wondering if I roll over will this or that muscle ache, to be out for an evening drive on a hot night and run into the Pumpkin Patch for icecream, not because I’m hungry but because it’s icecream and it’s awesome and I just want it.

Yes, I get it… I COULD do any of these things and it’s my choice to bust my ass every single day, but it’s not that easy to just say “whatever”.

I guess you could say I’m a bit of a regular at the gym. I train at the same time 90% of the time, see the same people and usually start before them and leave well after they do. People often joke that I’m always there, ask if I ever take a day off (I do….. I really do!) and all that jazz.

But it wasn’t until I started talking to someone from the gym… outside of the gym… that I really truly realized how much of a lifestyle this is for me.

Sure I live uptown, but I’ve never been to the badass candy store, I’ve never had pad thai from the best place in town, I’ve never had breakfast at 2pm at Bourbon Quarter and no, I’ve never had the massive lobster claw boozy drink from the Alehouse.

I’ve bought veggies from the City Market, I’ve run a race on the Harbour Passage and I regularly check out books on health, nutrition and fitness from the library, but yeah… Not quite the same as the whole “#livelifeuptown” movement.

run Sometimes I wish I could just have just said “Um yes, candy store = love. Let’s go now”, but it wouldn’t be me. Sure it would be easier to have a social life, it would make life more “interesting” and I’d probably have a lot more to blog about… but that’s just not me.

My idea of a Saturday out is going to the beach or for a lazy walk in the park, browsing the grocery store or well… going toe the gym. I know deep down I don’t actually want this road I’m on to be easier, where would be the fun or satisfaction in that? But at the same time…. sometimes it all just feels like so much.

It’s now 17 weeks until Provincials. A general team email went out last night stating that fact and basically saying what I know is coming very soon for me. Playtime is over. It’s time to say goodbye to my extra rice cakes, entertain the thought of a bit more cardio and really start thinking about the details.

Yes, I’m quite aware that I have just talked myself out of “wishing it was easier”… I love what I do, but just sometimes it would be nicer for it to be just a bit easier. But with that said, it’s not going to get easier so it’s time to suck it up and move on. Embrace the people in my life who support and accept my lifestyle, make no apologies for who I am and quit trying to pretend I’m just a normal everyday gym go-er. That’s not who I am and not who I want to be.

becoming

Comments
  1. dotsie says:

    🙂 I say enjoy it now…you may want to be doing other things when you’re older (way older). (just musing 😉 ) and if not, if you want to do this til the day you die, you will be super famous by then and it will be cool to “know” you! (not that it isn’t already cool, but ya know)

  2. this is awesome, I think that is a huge part of any routine. If you love it and wake up ready for it, then why change it? Why change what isn’t broken right?

  3. Steph says:

    I love your blog! This post hit me…was having the same feelings this wknd at a wedding. I like healthy food and clean living…not getting trashed bc booze is free at a wedding. Sometimes it puts me out of the loop socially and it makes me sad for a minute…but then I think of how I feel about my healthy living and I love it. It helps to have my husband as my bff…we wouldn’t change our lifestyle for a.minute! Great post…thanks!

  4. I agree completely. Sometimes I’m just like ugh, I wish I could sleep in, be lazy and everything would come to me…blerg-def not the case haha. Keep your head up and you are awesome! (no duh)

  5. redkeeney says:

    It would be “easier” in a way, but it wouldn’t be YOU. Good for you for realizing it and continuing to kick some booty.

  6. Donloree says:

    Yup, been there and felt that. 😀 You’ve got this thing!

Leave a Reply

