So I Had My Body Fat Tested

Posted: July 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Numbers don’t really mean a whole hell of a lot to me.

For the first time in many many years I don’t have a scale in my house (… not counting the old food scale) and have no idea how much I weigh.

Umm… I lived my whole life thinking I was 5’4.

True story, I’m 5’3. Shocker I got when I did my first height check.

lineup2 Once upon a time, I think maybe in my last year of high school…. TEN FRICKIN YEARS AGO…. I had my body fat tested when I had finally lost about 100lbs (um… the first time around)

I booked my appointment at the local Y thinking it was going to give me an awesome result. I mean come on, I had lost a crap ton of weight and was feeling really good. I was racing at the national level as a lightweight so CLEARLY I was lean right.

48% body fat.

Please don’t ask how long I sat in my car sobbing, it was probably an embarrassing length of time. I was a teenager, what do you expect?

Anyway, after that I got researching and learned that the method used, bio impedance, is really just stupid.

BIA: Bio Impedance Analysis

What is a BIA? Bio-impedance body composition analysis (BIA) measures body composition electronically. Body composition analysis is the clinical assessment of tissue and fluid compartments in the human body. A normal distribution of tissue and fluid in the body is associated with immunity, high function, and longevity. An abnormal distribution of tissue and fluid in the body is associated with susceptibility, low function, and the effects of disease and aging. Our body is bioelectric and the Body bioimpedance analysis measures our vitality at a cellular level.

Source

This type of test is VERY sensitive to the amount of hydration going on, plus body temp and food intake.

After that incident I really didn’t put much thought into it. A few times over the years I’ve had caliper testing done, and know if I dug around a little bit I could find the numbers, but it was always more realistic than the BIA testing, about 25%.

Yesterday morning I seemed to be making good time in the gym. I don’t know what was up with that, but it was just working. During my last few sets of exercises on calves I took a pee break and when I came back I was asked by one of the trainers to prove a point to one of his regular clients. I had time, and the client is a super friendly guy, so why not be a guinea pig for a few minutes and have my bodyfat tested.

I gave my height, a rough guess on my weight, took the little machine and did as I was told.

Part of me was thinking “shit, what if this says I’m 70% bf”… but the other part was thinking “yeah, this is stupid”.

Hmmm…. 16.7%

I was already feeling less bloated yesterday morning and that just made me feel a little bit better.

Wrong and totally inaccurate or not, I’m still a girl on some level and seeing that number was a little comforting…. and it totally pegged me as the leanest one in the little group. I’m a-ok with that.

Comments
  1. I’m scared to find out my bf. haha I’ll wait to do that when I lose some more weight. 😉

  2. dotsie says:

    🙂 haha love the thought process. I would hesitate to have mine tested…like you said, I’m a girl-I’d probably cry in the locker room then get pissed and hit the weights.

    good job, girlie! 🙂

  3. Ha. I feel the same way-I got weighed the other day for the first time in god knows how long and I was legitimately thinking oh what if I still weigh the same as I did in high school…ha.

  4. Go get a massage to lengthen your muscles/relieve stress on your spine and you’ll be 5’4″ again.

  5. Numbers are tough for everyone, I think the best indicator is how you feel and how your clothes fit. For me, that is what I go by. You are working hard, that means a lot and it shows with that number!

  6. oh goodness!i would cry if i had my body fat tested right now!!
    (thank you pregnancy weight gain after doing a show!)
    good job chica,for taking the plunge!!!
    take in account that “average” bf for females is 25%..and yeah that puts you in the “athlete” range,as well as “not average”!!!

    awesome!
    😀

  7. Robyn says:

    that’s a great number! I wanted to see less than 20% the last time I was tested… but it was 22. Ugh. It bummed me out so much I don’t want to get tested again.

Leave a Reply

