An Ode to Homemade Almond Butter and Rice Cakes

Posted: July 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

I always thought people who made their own nut butters were well… nuts. Like really, who has that much time on their hands? And why make something that you can go to the grocery store or Walmart or Costco and buy… .no work required.

Then I found my grandmother’s old food processor and made a batch. I said that it wasn’t worth the effort. It was a fun thing to try, but I probably wouldn’t do it again. By the time that jar was empty I was buying more almonds and sitting on the living room floor making more.

home 007

I haven’t bought a jar in a store since April, and probably won’t ever again. I’m a snob. Fresh stuff with a bit of sea salt? Yes please.

And what better way to eat that almond butter than on rice cakes, my daily “treat”. Let’s be honest, organic, gluten free, salt free and kind of cardboard like rice cakes are well… not that hot.

june 2 022

But the funny thing is, when you cut out all the rice cakes covered in fake flavors and junk from your diet, the simple things start to seem a lot less simple. Something that when given to me on my meal plan after Atlantics I could take or leave, I turned out to love.

Tonight I got the email I have been waiting for since well, the day after Atlantics. Saturday marked 16 weeks out and I got my first updated diet since April. I’ll go into more details later, but yeah, I’m actually having my calories increased. Increased, but from different sources. Taking one quick look at the plan I knew right away it was go time, the plan is meant to start leaning me out and I couldn’t be more excited… but a little sad at the same time.

I got home from work and pulled out my almost empty jar of almond butter and a few rice cakes and sat down one last time to enjoy them.

july 20

So tomorrow I wake up and will be starting my new diet right away. The almond butter is gone and the rice cakes are put away with my protein powder and will come out in November…. or maybe sooner. Who knows.

All I know is that while I have enjoyed every single bite of almond butter on rice cakes I’ve had this offseason I am more than ready to say “see you in November”.

I.am.so.freaking.excited.

The end.

Comments
  1. I feel like you would give the best review of this. Anyways-what is your opinion on the difference of almond butter and peanut butter? I have never tried almond butter but I know the blogging world is obsessed with it you know?

    • ihearteggs says:

      Honestly I think a lot if it is personal preference. I always picked peanut over almond, but peanuts are a no go for me and I’ve come to love almond butter. Macro wise they’re really similar.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. i don’t know why but I love rice cakes, I don’t find them boring like most people, i could just be strange.

  3. Lisa says:

    YAY! Exciting! I bet this will help the little funk =)

  4. ann says:

    Why do so many competitors eat rice cakes? when should they be eaten?

  5. Donloree says:

    No rice cakes?! ACK! 😦 No worries, you’ve got this woman!

Leave a Reply

