They Say the First Year Is the Hardest

Posted: July 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

Moving is like marriage right?

The first year is the hardest then it’s all fun and games from then on right? Right?!

If you hadn’t guessed… it’s been a year. One whole year ago today it all happened.

july 25 006july 27 001aug 23 022july 29 003

And I did what I had been thinking about, talking about and planning for a very very long time.

I kissed Montreal goodbye the only way I knew how.

phone 1104

Leaving behind friends, coworkers, my career, my first home… everything.

I knew deep down this was not going to be easy. There was unemployment, crazy jobs, living with the parents, temporary moves, forever moves, and tough times. Starting over at 27 was not something I ever thought I would do when I got crazy and moved to Montreal just after my 19th birthday on a whim. And yes, a whim it was. There was no planning other than “hey, that would be fun”, apply to school, get accepted, get on a train.

Growing up is tough. In the eight years I was in Montreal I grew up a lot. And I do mean a lot. I went from the overprotected, shy, no idea what was going on to well… who I am today. Or who I was a year ago. I’m still that same person, but still different. A year back east has made me more laid back (as if that was possible), it’s made me truly appreciate my family and friends and everyone who has stuck by me through this.

Living in Montreal I learned to be independent, strong and maybe a little hardheaded. I was on my own and knew that. I made mistake, I made the right choices. I had my fun and at the end of the day I knew it was time to come home and not “be a grown up”, because I was most definitely one of those in Montreal… but it was time to come home and learn that it’s okay to ask for help, to not be so freaking independent. To spend time with my family and more importantly be apart of my family for more than a few weeks a year.

Yeah… it’s  been tough this year. I finally feel settled just now. Things aren’t perfect, but my bills are paid, I have a home I love and live 15 minutes from the family. I’m so thankful that even though it was the hardest thing I ever did, I finally admitted I wasn’t happy and it was time to move back. Over the last year there were times I wanted to say “why did leave it all behind???” but I didn’t, and i won’t. It was the right choice.

So at the end of the day, it’s all been worth it. That ten hour drive with everything I owned packed in a uhaul to end up with my feet in the Atlantic. Right where I needed to be. Everything comes full circle and it finally had for me.

phone 1194

Comments
  1. Congrats on this! What a great reflection post.

  2. Love this post! So happy for you! 🙂

  3. It’s always growing up. But I’m so happy for you that you got to go do what you wanted, live a life that was wonderful, and will continue to do so in your “new home” once again. It’s not always easy, but isn’t it more about how we accept the challenge? 🙂

  4. If your life is hard….well my life must be lame and hard. (What does that even mean?). You continue to inspire me Becca and this is a great post. I’m glad you are happy back there. It seems so weird how fast this last year has gone by eh?

  5. Donloree says:

    Congratulations! One year is a big deal. Awesome

Leave a Reply

