Unexpected

Posted: August 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Yesterday was hard.

I wasn’t expecting it. I truly thought it would just be business as usual on my Tuesday off. Relax, gym, errands, a few other odds and ends. Nothing major… but I was kind of wrong (and it kills me to say I was wrong).

I had my first workout on my new plan yesterday. Totally forgot how long these workouts are if I rest too much (which I totally did). Definitely felt good to be back on a “leaning out” workout plan. It’s similar to the very first program I had with Blueprint and I got a fairly fast drop with that plus diet, so here’s hoping by the end of the summer I’ve got some good beach body days in me?

After the gym I headed out to the parents place to check up on the black cat and catch some sun. I spent an hour or two reading in the sun before I headed inside to cool off since it was freaking hot out there. I had tossed in a load of laundry and stretched out on the couch to watch some daytime tv while that finished and yeah… I got sucked in.

I don’t know if it was being in the house I moved back to, with no family present, no one calling to say hi, nothing. I just… got into a funk.

surf

I don’t know what it was, it definitely wasn’t due to the quality tv programming I was watching. Millionaire Matchmaker and Teen Mom don’t usually make me weepy… but yeah, just the tiniest things made me tear up yesterday. It was hard. My head was just all over the place.

I admit I wanted to eat. Thankfully there was nothing in the parents house to cheat with because I probably would have been tempted. When in reality nothing I would have snacked on would have filled the void for what I suddenly wanted.

…. a long walk in the old Port in the summer

… a trip to Crescent street to grab fro-yo

… a night out with friends to be as random as possible

…. skipping a day of work to go on an adventure

I just felt like suddenly I wanted my “old life” back. I was being nostalgic. Big time. I guess it was bound to happen sooner or later… just happened to hit at a weird time.

Alas… I could choose to be down and out, to miss the old life I had… or I could choose to incorporate more of my old life into my new life (to make a super life?).

Let’s be honest, I don’t have the disposable income, salaried position, or the amount of freedom I once had… and that I’m okay with. I can still work with this. Most of the (stupid) things I did involved little to no money anyway, why start splurging now?

It’s not going to be a huge change overnight, but I’m going to start working on incorporating aspects of my Montreal life into my Saint John life. It’s time to go back to be carefree and worry free, to just taking life as it comes and seeing what happens. However the cards fall I will be okay with it.

greatful

The first year is over… I don’t regret a single day of it, but the hard times are behind me. Yes, I’m sure there will be more… but for now, I’m going to choose to make the best of the time I’m given, the opportunities that arise and the life I’ve been given.

It’s been pretty great so far, let’s see what else can come of it.

Comments
  1. I love the last quote. I am sorry yesterday was so hard but remember each day is a new day. You get to wipe the slate clean and start again.

  2. Josee Corbeil says:

    Can’t hold my tongue on this one: I live in Montreal and you’re not missing ANYTHING!!! It’s so gross right now. It smells like a hamster cage with the heat & humidity. The streets are filthy. I got asked for some spare change (huh, you mean my money?!) twice before 8AM, there are more orange cones and detours than you can imagine and people are just plain rude. This place is an armpit, take a deep breath from NB 🙂 !!!

  3. Oh man I like that quote from Alex too. Today is a new day (well tomorrow). Sorry to hear yesterday was rather rough but you are getting so close!

  4. lifttorun says:

    Everyday is a new day. That’s how I look at it.

  5. G says:

    I have a question for you: how do you get over the cravings? I often get this way at night, when I’m tired and lonely (I just moved downtown in a big city and am still working on getting to meet some people… I miss my family and friends a lot). I KNOW I’m just craving food to feel this empty void, but yet, I still can’t resist the temptations and end up eating junk and feeling even crappier… Any advice since you are definitely much more disciplined than I am? Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

