Fear or Excitement

Posted: August 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

Thirteen weeks.

Wow… time really does fly when you’re having fun? Did I not just step off stage like 30 seconds ago?

For someone who has retired/said one more show/said I’m done with this shit here I am again prepping my little legs out.

I’ve lost my mind, have you seen it?

This is the point in prep where I spend my cardio working on the mental side of competing. Playing various scenarios over and over in my head, the day of the show, stepping on stage, what the judges want. It’s all a giant crap shoot obviously, but I like having all my bases covered. Visualization is huge for me, I worry and stress out so having every possible scene already played out in my head really makes me relax a little bit.

But after Atlantics the one scene that keeps going on repeat is stepping off stage from prejudging and sitting down in the hallway and promptly quitting the sport and having a complete meltdown in front of Jody over the fact I’m no longer on a level playing field. I’m scared to death that I’m going to step backstage at provincials and once again be completely out of my element. That I’ll look like a 12 year old girl next to these amazing women.

I know I can’t dictate who shows up on November 10th, so it’s really just… silly… to worry about this. I can only do me and hope it’s good enough, but I still have the fear. But then I was browsing Pinterest and saw this.

fear How very very true.

So I think it’s time to get EXCITED for being 13 weeks out.

Ignoring what my head and fit of my jeans tells me I HAVE stayed lean this offseason. Last fall when I started prep I could definitely NOT fit my butt into the jeans I wore to work yesterday (… and if I could it was NOT pretty) and I know I’m going to be better than ever come November, so why be afraid?

At the end of the day, when I step on stage in November I know in my heart I’m going to be the best Becca I’ve ever been and have worked my ass off every single day.

…. and that’s something to get excited about.

Comments
  1. sglgirl says:

    today I am full of fear, tomorrow could be different. I do know that 11 weeks is going to fly by

  2. The unknown is always something I fear a little bit, but it’s also exciting! I’m excited to hear how you rock it in 13 weeks 🙂

  3. Wow it does seem like time has flown by. 13 weeks! w00t

  4. lifttorun says:

    I’m excited for you. (:

  5. Donloree says:

    Maybe you haven’t lost your mind…I think you’ve found your passion. 😉

  6. Ashleigh says:

    I haven’t been on here for awhile so just seeing your new site, love it!

Leave a Reply

