Self Love: PMB Nine Days Out

Posted: November 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

I meant to do this last week but um yeah, that life thing.

The wonderful www.lolzthatswimandrun.com started this three weeks ago and it’s something I think that’s wonderful. Celebrating your physical, mental and bragging rights moments.

I really think sometimes we don’t give ourselves anywhere near enough credit and being NINE DAYS OUT is when you can throw in the towel or celebrate your success.

I’m obviously choosing to celebrate, so here we go.

Physical: I wish I could narrow this down, but at 9 days out the physical things change so fast I can’t keep up.

But this week I had a moment. I fully admit I don’t mentally see myself as the fat kid anymore, but physically? Yes, I do. I can look in the mirror and see myself as I am now, or the old Becca could be staring back at me.

20121101-120612.jpg

But after a few talks with friends, a lot of talks with myself and a lot of beating up on myself I finally feel like I am accepting that this person I have become mentally is also who I am physically.

Strong, able and healthy.

Mental: Nine days out is all mental. It’s where you know your body still has a bit more left, but your head is checking out.

“I’m over cardio”
“I want a bacon cheeseburger”
“If I have to do one more walking lunge I’m going to scream”

I can’t count the number of texts I’ve sent Michelle saying “I’m just putting one foot in front of the other for this cardio. Over it”.

Then 2 minutes in my competitive side kicks in and I remind myself it’s only a few more days and I finish my 25 minutes of cardio out of breath, sweating my face off and shaking as I send a follow up text of “well that turned into the best cardio of the week!”

20121101-121547.jpg

Mind over matter. Believing I can go one more day. Taking it just one step further.

Brag: This is a tough one… But I’m going to go with something I’m very proud of this time around.

I have always prepped for approximately 6 MONTHS. Then promptly rebounded up 20-40lbs and repeated the cycle next time around.

After Atlantics I decided to accept this as a lifestyle and who I am. I tossed my scale, I stuck to my meal plans and worked my butt off. When the plan of competing in November I kept asking about cardio and “dieting”. When would it begin? Aren’t I behind? I’ll never be ready.

I did less than 10 weeks of “prep” because of the choices I made in the offseason. I made the right gains, the right choices (for me), and couldn’t be happier, prouder or more at peace with my decisions than I am right now.

20121101-122319.jpg

I’m going to be ready and I’m going to be better than ever before.

That’s something to brag about in my eyes.

Comments
  1. well said girl. You deserve the right to brag.

    Kudos to you.

    8 more sleeps!!!

  2. AWE. It really means a lot to me that you did this post girl. You have seriously come so far in the last few months and holy moly the last few weeks! You deserve to brag more then you do about only needing prep for 10 weeks. That is awesome.

  3. You are so close! hang in there!

  4. I’m super proud of you. I think it’s great that you are looking at this as a lifestyle and that you did not have to prep all year to get hear. No matter what anyone tell you..you have already won!

Leave a Reply

