Inner Peace : Being Happy With Not Being Perfect

Posted: November 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

One week from right.this.second ill be putting on my dirty pirate hooker makeup and doing my hair to head off for prejudging at the Playhouse.

20121103-071128.jpg

… In case you needed the visual.

Yesterday was a tough day. I was very lucky to have some very amazing friends in my life to boost me up when I was really down.

If you want to know why yesterday was tough, just check the comments on my blog from yesterday. I’m well aware that having this blog leaves me opens to comments, but it’s hard knowing how hard I’ve worked to just look like a skinny bikini girl to some people)

Instead of dwelling on this comment I’m choosing to kill the final week of this prep and finish what I started stronger than I ever imagined.

20121103-071715.jpg

I used to say throughout my prep I had to prove this person or that person, or even myself, wrong. That I wasn’t the fat kid anymore, that I could improve, that I was good enough to compete.

But somewhere in the last year that mentality changed. This is who I have become. Prep has changed me into the person I am now. No longer am I trying to prove anything, it’s about improving myself and being proud of everything I’ve become.

I may not be the biggest, the leanest, the best figure competitor out there… But I am so beyond ok with that. Because at the end of next week, and at the end of the day I’m a competitor. On and off the stage. There’s so much more to competing than your 5 minutes on stage. It’s a day in, day out desire and need to better yourself.

That’s what I’m all about.

that’s what brings me the sense of peace I have right now with not being the best, but being the best me I can be.

… And now it’s time to hit the road for one last team training workout and checkin with the coach in Fredericton. I’m ready to get excited over this show!

Comments
  1. I feel like that comment was moderated before I commented. You are awesome Becca and you really look great. Your blog has always remained one of my favorites and will continue to be.

  2. ugh seriously? I am sorry, i hope you continue to realize how strong you are and continue to rely on those amazing friends to get you through.

  3. Christina B. says:

    Becca: You are amazing. You are doing great work and this entire competition process is a PROCESS. You have been and are continuing to build your physique. You look amazing and you have come a long way.

    Size takes time.

    This entire sport is about patience and endurance and who cares what anyone else says: you are on your way.

    All my love and support,

    Christina

  4. Tenecia says:

    You look like a bikini girl….I look like a man….man, the internet makes people feel really brave 🙂

    Let’s keep moving forward – we’re almost to the finish line!

    T.

  5. Tara says:

    I agree with Tenecia. People on the internet will say all kinds of shit because they are anonymous. Don’t take it personally! Remember that you are an inspiration for many people and we can’t wait to see how you go in one week’s time!

  6. justalittletealover says:

    I’ve been a follower for a bit now, and it’s amazing to see the changes in you in just the last few months, not to mention since the beginning. Your an inspiration to me, and to many others – obviously.
    As Ghandi once said “I will not let anyone walk through my mind with their dirty feet.”.You have worked too hard to get where you are now to let anyone ruin that. You got this!!

  7. Angie says:

    You’re going to compete in bikini, right?

Leave a Reply

