Special Anniversary

Posted: November 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

Yesterday wasn’t just any regular Wednesday.

Sure I went to the gym… I ate my packed meals… Went to work… Came home to the flyers on my doorstep.

Totally typical.

But the workout? German volume round three… Blueprint growing season.

The meals? Planned pre and post workout nutrition. Gluten and dairy free, carb backloaded and portioned out.

20121129-130956.jpg

Yesterday marked one full year as a blueprint athlete. I let go of all my preconceived notions of controlling my own prep and training and embraced a new way of life.

20121129-131143.jpg

It began with an approximate 35lb drop to show number one, Atlantics in April. I learned the ins and outs of my plan, enjoyed Christmas like a “normal” person while in prep and came in leaner and fuller than ever before. Show day was an emotional roller coaster, but in the best way possible.

20121129-131423.jpg

After that there was no lingering doubt. I was a blueprint athlete.

I managed to continue on life as normal after the show. Tossing my scale but being comfortable enough knowing I didn’t have a 40lb rebound like usual. The plan was to gain as much as possible… Around 9 weeks we slowly started cardio and “dieting”.

Provincials in November I stepped on stage 7 lbs heavier than April.

20121129-131645.jpg

After that it was back to usual. Building plan, eating to grow and living life. There’s no extremes, no crazy, it just is what it is.

I know there is no “cure” for disordered eating, but living this way has left me feeling more free from the dieting mentality than I ever thought possible. Food is fuel, health is on the forefront and I couldn’t feel any better.

It’s funny to think I almost didn’t join blueprint. I honestly can’t even begin to imagine where I’d be right now if I hadn’t joined the team, but I know in my heart it wouldn’t be where I am right now.

20121129-132024.jpg

It’s hard to believe everything that has happened in the last year…. But it’s all happened. I don’t always know where I’m going to be or the next time I’m going to step on stage, but I know I’ll be stronger when I do.

Like I’ve said a million times over here it’s not about a trophy or winning… It’s about being just a little bit better every single day and knowing that bad days will happen but they just make you stronger. There’s always going to be days I question why I do this, if I can do this… And I know that on those days I’ve got the support system to remind me why I do this and to carry on.

… And that’s all the sappiness I have left in me today.

Comments
  1. It’s all a learning process and you are doing amazing and I love the new attitude….you are a winner in my book. It can be scary to switch trainers and programs but it looks like you found the right one for you now and that’s the most important thing.

  2. I can’t believe it’s been a year since you switched over. Honestly uyou have never seemed happier and I’m so happy for you.

Leave a Reply

