Makes Me Wonder

Posted: December 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Is it just me or am I all over the place lately?

Overtime, family time, social time.

Does that mean my gym time and meal time has been interrupted? Nope, business as usual. My workouts are scheduled breaks between my overtime and regular work and my meals are prepped and packed daily.

…. With some exceptions.

20121217-225440.jpg

That’s right, Saturday I finally got my burger (I tossed the bun as per personal preference) and sweet potato fries on a Moncton shopping trip with my mom.

One month post show, but totally worth it.

Normal about this time after a show I’m getting nervous. The inevitable weight gain (less than 10 lbs this time around), setting new goals, improving upon my results… The mind #%* begins.

But this time? It’s barely a thought.

Yes, I do notice my jeans are tighter, but um… Filling out my skinny jeans instead of them hanging off me is a GOOD thing. I feel healthy and happy… And normal. The stress of post show eating isn’t eating me alive.

20121218-092705.jpg

I’m growing and seeing the right kind of changes post show… Muscles and definition, not muffin top and belly.

I’m planning my own meals for now with Jody’s template, and the “relaxed” approach is working so well for me. I never thought freedom would be… Free. Whenever I’ve had this type of diet freedom I’ve overanalyzed and gone back to restrictive/binge habits.

Yet now… It’s just happening. I eat my usual meals for fuel, yet if I’m out or I have plans I know it’s not the end of the world. Popcorn during a movie instead of oats, pad Thai heavy on veggies is not going to kill me.

I may be “cheating” but I’m making what I consider to be smart cheats. There’s going to come a time soon enough when I have a meal plan and will need to scale back, but right now is not that time.

It makes me wonder what finally clicked, what’s so different now than before. I wish I knew, I wish there was a magic answer… But I don’t have one.

Maybe I’m just happy, and living (and loving) life…. I’ve got a lot of big goals and big plans for my next prep, but all in good time. For now I’ll post when I can, but it’s time to focus on the here and now, and I’m okay with that

Comments
  1. brooke says:

    looking great, girl! you’ve gotta eat to grow 🙂

  2. Hollie says:

    I’m glad you are blogging sometimes though and also glad you have such a good mindset about the gain!

  3. Sounds like you’ve achieved what so many struggle with…balance.

Leave a Reply

