Deadlines and Commitments

Posted: January 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’m just going to say it, New Years resolutions, year end recaps, all that “oh-em-gee it’s 2013” stuff is kind of not my jive.

Last January I made one simple statement.

20130102-103552.jpg

I think I was pretty successful at that, so I will leave it at that for a recap.

Resolutions? Yeah no. I have the attention span of fritz, I don’t do resolutions. I do set goals. Big goals, little goals, goals to not let my dishes sit in the sink for a week… It’s really an everyday thing, not some grand declaration on January 1st.

My New Year’s Eve is a pretty decent indication of how much I just don’t care… Last year was spent on the couch watching world jrs, this year I worked until ten and was back at work at 8am the next day.

A lazy night of Chinese food and a recorded comedy show on the couch was my kind of “celebration” on New Year’s Day. Clearly to lose weight is not in my goal list… But that’s a post for another day.

My point today is… How sad some of these posts and declarations make me.

2012 was a fail. I didn’t lose weight, didn’t get a bf, didn’t get the big promotion.

2013 will be different, I’m going to lose 50lbs, I’m going to be more social, I’m going to run this bitch.

It seems to be a trend to embrace paleo or “bodybuilding” as a thin veiled cover up for disordered eating and weight loss, while saying its about health. News flash, 90% of “bodybuilding” diets are completely unhealthy.

Yes, I’m well aware this is a case of pot calling kettle since I don’t deny I began competing for the wrong reasons… But now I realize how foolish I was, how crazy it all was… And I know that the minute I don’t feel right competing I’m done and over and will choose health.

Everyone is out there setting deadlines and making commitments this week, most of which will be forgotten in a Short time… So the only commitment I’m choosing to make is to continue on my journey to being the best becca I can be. There’s going to be set backs and roadblocks, but at the end of the year, and the end of each day I know I’ll be the person I want to be.

That’s really all that matters right?

Comments
  1. I hear ya. I have no resolutions other than what I normally resolve to do an be in my every day life. Would I like to lose 5 lbs? Sure, but I sure as heck ain’t makin’ a grand statement to do so!

  2. Christine says:

    I don’t set resolutions like “this year I will travel three times and read three nights a week” or anything. But I do LOVE setting resolutions at new year’s, like just reminding myself of the kind of person that I want to be and what I want to focus on. I feel like New Years is a great time to reflect on that. I do it all year, though, like you. Kind of like I love my husband all year but that doesn’t mean I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day too!

  3. ryderyoung says:

    Couldn’t have put it better. I actually deleted Facebook as my .. ‘Resolution’. Which I dont believe in either and I think doing these huge resolutions are for losers, not winners. It’s about being the best you at the end of each day knowing you have 100% 🙂

    Great post!

  4. I agree completely. This was the first year I made a resolution to do some sort of core work everyday…weather it be a few crunches or a full ab set in the gym. I mostly just decided upon it so I could hashtag #corewhore.

    It does sadden me how people have the all or none basis on years. No way could it be either!

Leave a Reply

