Giving Up Control to Learn Intuitive Eating

Posted: January 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’ve had a few people ask about my diet. Especially since I mentioned last week (… Was it last week?!) that I felt I wasn’t gaining enough.

… Crazy thought, I know.

Anyone who has known me for more than 30 seconds knows I started counting calories in high school to lose weight and when I began competing I took to balancing macros and perfecting meals.

When I started with blueprint I had a set meal plan, and in the beginning there was macros and calories listed beside each meal. Eventually as diets changed and evolved Jody started leaving out bits and pieces and then stopped listing them all together.

20130109-235425.jpg

Planned and portioned, but no idea of the numbers.

Now I’m back to planning my own meals. I can substitute and switch things up as needed… Without calculating if I’m going to be in the right macro range or if my total calories are too much.

True, I do still weigh my portions, but honestly they aren’t 100% on the 4 or 5oz portion every time…. Sometimes I eat out or I trust the bf to put together a delicious meal that isn’t going to be 1000 cals in a serving. Life has been happening. And I love it.

…. And I haven’t rebounded 40lbs.

20130109-235838.jpg

… Even if I could hide it under 40 layers.

Sometimes I’m a little hungrier than usual, maybe I did some cardio (ha!) or just had a longer day than normal so I’ll grab a few extra rice cakes or an egg or two. Maybe I’m not hungry at one meal… I don’t stuff food in my face. I’ll say it’s rare I don’t finish a meal, but I’m not shovelling food down just to “get huge”

Somewhere along the way, without even realizing it I found what I spent so many years trying to force upon myself. Intuitive eating.

20130110-000235.jpg

What a crazy thought!

I’ve read the books, done the self help exercises… And spent hours trying to force myself to listen to my body. Um…. Pretty sure there’s nothing intuitive or natural about that.

Somehow by completely giving up control and trusting Jody to plan the best possible meals for my goals I slowly learned to stop looking at the numbers and looking at what I was actually putting in my mouth. No more low cal/low fat/sugar free crap, just simple, whole, real foods.

If I want ice cream I have the real deal. No more fat free tasteless cookies you need to eat 17 of to get half the satisfaction of one real butter and sugar filled cookie.

Suddenly it’s hitting me how relaxed and easy eating is now… By giving up the extreme control I had for so long I finally found the freedom I had spent so long searching for.

What a crazy idea.

Comments
  1. Christine says:

    Do you do this intuitive eating even when you’re training? Also, I didn’t know you had a bf! 🙂

    • ihearteggs says:

      I will have set meals in prep, I have big goals and it will require being slightly less all over the place 🙂

      And yes… 🙂 it’s a new term I’m slowly getting used to using

  2. Sali says:

    boyfriend?! 😀

  3. Chuck says:

    I’d love to be at that point. In working on it though!

  4. Hollie says:

    EXCUSE ME.

    I have been stalking you for how long and didn’t know this!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? !!!!X#hashtags

    Okay I’m done.

    I do love to see you doing this intuitively. That has got to be such a different but yet rewarding experience after all the training/food preparation you’ve been doing.

  5. Yes, feeding one’s self shouldn’t be all that complicated. Listen to your body/ stay busy. It looks like you’ve done great!

  6. Michelle says:

    I think the key is not eating fake stuff and saying “yes” to things in moderation, but not ALL the time. I switched to this kind of eating when I got pregnant with Braeden over 7 years ago (even though I didn’t know it had a name) and it changed my life. I used to obsess about food. Now I just listen to my body (and I try to eat slower so my stomach/brain are in synch) and I am overall so much happier and food is something I truly savor and enjoy. I hope you have the same experience!

  7. elle says:

    This is exactly how it happened to me. IE changed my life!

Leave a Reply

