The Fear of Saying Goals Out Loud

Posted: February 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’ve posted my may goals here… And even briefly mentioned them in a Facebook post for Blueprint.

20130213-100604.jpg

I’ve typed it in an email to Jody and I’ve even said it out loud to the bf.

… But to anyone else?

A simple “yup, competing again. Wbff Halifax in may”. That’s it that’s all.

The past two days I’ve seen another guy who competes at the gym who showed up mid cardio. Conversation day 1 was “you look like you’re dying”, day 2 he happened to be leaving as I started my cool down so he stopped to say hi.

We chit chatted about the upcoming season, plans, etc and before I knew it “top three placing” came out of my mouth.

I didn’t get a “that’s nice, you’re the fat kid becca. Give up now” response, it was simply a good job, you’re busting your ass, good luck.

There was no negativity from him, why was I allowing saying this goal out loud to be negative in my head?

Lets be honest, the number of people who read this blog that I know in real life is very few, posting a goal here is truth, but if I don’t achieve it well… It’s almost like my dirty little secret.

When I talked to the bf about how freaked out saying it out loud maybe he had some wonderful words of wisdom which I’m sure he’s going to need to remind me of several times over the next 14.5 weeks.

Saying a goal out loud completely commits you to it.

Say the goal out loud, live it, believe it. Act like you’ve already won a medal

Basically… When show day comes the only question you’ll have is what color medal you walk away with (… Metaphorically, we don’t really do the whole gold/silver/bronze thing in my sport… )

Outwardly I rarely to never relate to or mention my past. I am who I am now. Yes, I realize I am who I am because of my past, but I don’t let what shaped me, define me. Why should I be allowing it to influence my mindset?

I train everyday like nothing can stop me, the switch to a 100% committed prep diet was flicked and there’s no turning back… There is no room in my head for self doubt and excuses.

Yes, saying this goal out loud is frightening, but it’s time to stop allowing myself to think that I’m only competing for fun and to do it. I want to be the best version of me possible, and I know deep down I have the potential to be a top three athlete… It’s time to make sure everyone else knows it to.

Comments
  1. I really like you are posting that goal too. I cannot wait to see how it goes for you and he is right (as I’ve always said) YOU BUST ASS LIKE NO ONE ELSE. (That sounds odd to type in all caps but anywho).

    I have this problem too. I have a goal for my half marathon in April but I hate to tell people because it seems like so far away and can I achieve that…well I don’t really know.

  2. Charles F-M says:

    Telling people your goals most definitely is a great way to build motivation. You CAN do it!

  3. You have come a long way. You will make this happen and know that you do inspire me. I was embarrassed to let people know that I was going to compete but I’m not sure why. I guess I was afraid of letting myself down and worried that people would be happy to see me “fail”.

    I know now that I’m doing this for me and as long as I give all I’ve got and make some progress then I am happy with that. I can’t wait to see the picture you post with your new hardware!

  4. Rachel says:

    HI Becca, been reading your blog for a while but never commented! I’m currently in training for my figure show in October – and can totally relate to your fat kid mentality. Congrats on everything you have accomplished so far, but most of all thank you for your constant honesty – it really is a breath of fresh air. You seem amazingly focussed and driven and it pays off! Go and get that top three! And just so you know, people do read your blog! Im all the way from NZ and I found you, so no slacking off! 🙂

  5. Nice. Verbalizing the goal DOES make it more real, but you’ve got this!!

Leave a Reply

