Oh No!!! Another Goal

Posted: February 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

…. I totally didn’t do a cheesy valentines day blog wishing everyone a happy valentines day from (that crazy) fritz! Bad blogger!

20130216-094257.jpg

… Yeah, his favourite v word is vodka. Not valentines.

After a not so wonderful valentines day three years ago involving a diamond ring and a bad relationship I was more than ok with spending my morning at the gym before work. Self love.

20130216-094509.jpg

And you know… Love from my mom. I’m so cool.

Anyway, since my goal post last week about saying them out loud I figured I might as well toss this one out there too.

In an effort to push myself out of my comfort zone I intend to run a 22-23 minute treadmill 5k by may.

I have zero specific training plan other than to keep up my sprinting, cross train my ass off and you know… Kill prep.

For a starting point comparison in my 20 minutes of intervals yesterday + 5 minute easier run at the end I did 4.65k… Soooo I’ve got a ways to go, but know I did not push myself hard enough in the beginning. Lesson learned.

No holding back. Totally my new prep theme.

Comments
  1. Holy moly, that’s a fast 5K! But if anyone can do it, you can!

  2. Victoria says:

    That is so awesome speedy. Crush it.

  3. Chuck says:

    Damn homie- thats fast! That will probably be no problem if you keep up your sprinting and heavy lifting… probably waaaay better than most running programs–really.

    I need to set a goal so that I can achieve it and then be able to get my next (and last!) tattoo. I need something meaningful though!

  4. I train a lot on treadmills and think running a 22-23 minute 5k is a lot easier on the road, at an actual 5k, then it is on treadmill. The ‘time spent’ and ‘distance covered’ don’t seem to match up. So in a word its ‘harder’. I guess that’s what training is all about. When you run normally on a treadmill do you put the incline up to 1.0? Getting used to running with a slight incline will strengthen your legs too for the actual 5k. Good luck!

  5. hotdot24 says:

    I have a (side) running goal, too, but it’s just to actually run, do a 5k and less focused on speed at this point. I am supposed to be following the C25K plan but haven’t gotten back on track since the weather got crappy.

    Anyway, kudos on the new goal 😉

Leave a Reply

