The Poster Child for Average

Posted: February 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

Some people jump into competing with amazing genetics, already naturally low levels of body fat and walk away with the easy win.

20130219-094254.jpg

… I am not one of those people.

I started out competing for the wrong reasons, to prove to OTHER people I could do it, to fix my disordered eating, to have a real goal.

Because of those reasons I spent my first two years competing being nothing more than a bottom of the pack, former fat girl who just wanted to get on stage.

20130219-094532.jpg

… And I did it, and yes, had a lot of fun doing it. But deep down there was always that disappointment with myself that maybe I could do so much more.

After my first show with blueprint I ended up exactly where I always did. Second to last, crying backstage and upset. Thankfully Jody sat me down and we had a long talk. After that I maintained a very strict building diet over the summer, followed my plan to the letter and stepped on stage just over 6 months later 7lbs heavier and ended up 5th place and Blueprint athlete of the year.

20130219-094953.jpg

Top five had long been my dream goal. I thought once I finally reached that I’d be happy… But of course not, it left me wanting more… Training harder, sticking to the plan and pushing for more.

As soon as I finished prep before and transitioned back to offseason it was right back to adding the extras to my life. Sugar free syrups, jam, extra treats… And then 5 months later I’d be wondering why I had 40lbs to lose.

I’ve finally realized its easier… And healthier… To cut the crap out. Naturally I sit at an average size 6-8… Which is way out of my comfort zone. I knew cutting out the “tasty” things in life would be hard if I didn’t replace it with something else, so I took up cooking more elaborate meals and taking my time to enjoy my food.

Accepting that naturally I’m really just an average everyday person who struggles with my weight has finally led me to a lifestyle I can maintain and use to push myself towards bigger and better stage goals.

(…. Top 3… Top 3… Top 3…)

Being “average” is what is driving me to end up anything but ordinary. This isn’t about a quick fix anymore, it’s become so much more.

Comments
  1. I think that your attitude towards food and off-season is not only good for helping you with your goals, it’s also MUCH healthier overall. Of course, the goals are awesome (and I can’t wait to see you in the top 3 in May!) but you have changed your life and developed a healthy relationship with food that, in the long run, is pretty important too 🙂

    I’m 7 months pregnant right now and early in the pregnancy I really fell into the “I’m pregnant so I can (and will) eat everything.” Posts like this help me realize that I can still have a healthy relationship with food even while growing a person. That’s no excuse for bad choices.

    Thanks for inspiring me!

  2. ugh…..what you said about the former fat girl just being on stage to prove that she could really struck a cord with me. That was ME. My goal for my first show was to “not be the fattest girl on stage”. What kind of a goal is that????

    Anyway this year, my goal is top 10. that’s as brave as I can be.

    There, I said it.

    xo

  3. Victoria says:

    Maybe average genetics, but not average determination and drive. Keep kicking ass.

  4. Becca, is your coach online? I was with a local coach and recently split off from there because she said in order for me to really tighten up “I needed to give up my notion of being a natural athlete. I refuse to go that route but really want to compete in June.
    Wondering how you like your team or coach?

    • ihearteggs says:

      Technically he’s online and in person. Most of our correspondence is online, but I do travel to see him on occasion. I honestly can’t say enough amazing things about Jody and blueprint. If you have ANY questions shoot me an email or a FB message, drugs are not needed!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Hey Bec, it’s been a while since I’ve commented. I’ve been following along still, but didn’t feel like I could contribute to the convo since I stopped working out once I hit my ninth month of pregnancy and started shoveling Nutella and whipped cream into my face. I can relate to this post though. I lifted weights (real weights, no pink dumbells here) Until month nine. Birth wasnt easy by any stretch, but the dr said my body was in wonderful shape from keeping suh a healthy lifestyle. 2 weeks after mynson was born, I fit back into my jeans (not very comfortably, but they were zipped). After six weeks I got clearance from my dr to get back in the gym. I eat clean 90% of the time. The other 10 I’m PMSing lol! I have always felt like weight was a struggle. I don’t have wonderful genetics. I squat more than my body weight, leg press double my body weight and still have a pancake butt. But a I feel like a better me striving to be great when I keep pushing on. Health is a lifestyle.

  6. I can actually really relate to this and had this conversation earlier in the week with some people. I’m not a naturally thin person and it is so hard to relate that to people. They think, oh you don’t have to struggle with genetics. No, my family is diabetic and I am naturally about 20+ pounds heavier if I didn’t run. Thank you for this post.

  7. Ann says:

    You can’t be saying you gained 40 lbs because of sugar-free syrup, can you? Do you mean that artificial sweeteners are a binge trigger or something? Because you’re making my ED brain paranoid about the 5 calories of sugar-free jam I had this morning. (Sorry

Leave a Reply

