Diets: One Size Doesn’t Fit All

Posted: February 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

Who here has been on a diet at one point or another?

20130224-224507.jpg

(How many times can I reuse that photo?!)

-calorie counting
-low carb/low fat/high protein
-body for life
-intuitive eating
-intermittent fasting
-no eating at night
-skipping meals
-elimination diets
-paleo

…. Need I go on? (And those are just some of the diets I’ve tried, I’m sure there’s more)

20130224-225055.jpg

Like the cookie and vodka filled coffee diet?

Yeah, that’s a personal favourite.

Anyway. How often do those diets work? In my experience… Rarely. Sure they work for a while, you get results, you feel awesome… But what happens when you just want a bowl of oats on that low carb diet? Or you would kill for an omelette after 6pm?

That’s it. It’s over. The flood gates have been opened, the diet ruin… No use in getting right back on track, might as well continue eating junk.

20130224-225459.jpg

Well… If you insist…

People often ask what “diet” I use for prep (and off season). My favourite quote I saw recently was:

I’m not dieting, I’m eating for my goals

Love that. And it’s true. But how do you eat for health? For gaining? For losing? Consistency in whatever plan you use, monitoring portion sizes and adjusting according to the workout plan, whether it be leaning out or building.

I love that there is no drastic switch in my meals on vs off season. Portion sizes change, but the foods don’t.

20130224-225851.jpg

Steak, quinoa and veggies year round. There’s no low carb diet, no fads or trends. I’ve found blending many styles of dieting work well for me.

On rest days (and long ass work days) I prefer to intermittent fast, I’m more productive this way and feel better eating later in the day… When it’s time to start getting food into me it’s a combination of primal, gluten free and carb back loading that gets me results.

That’s right, I eat oats before bed, don’t eat bread and… Haven’t had a beer in over a YEAR

20130224-230721.jpg

Sadly the beer boot is getting no love since moving east. It’s a choice I’ve made and honestly…. A-ok with it.

No one diet worked for me, it wasn’t until I realized you could take the best parts of each to customize it that everything finally clicked. Funny how that works.

We’re always reading and checking up on new ideas, plans and supplements. It’s a constant evolution and that’s what I love about this hobby… It’s a never ending learning experience.

Comments
  1. hotdot24 says:

    love that quote!

    i’m all about customizing things to suit your needs ๐Ÿ˜‰

    have a great day!

  2. LOL…love that beer boot!!! Since moving to the states, I never drink beer anymore either. Now wine on the other hand, is a totally different story ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Victoria says:

    Word, my friend, word. If your goals are important to you, you’ll make it happen. I’m always in awe of your dedication.

  4. I do like that as well, eating for my goals. This is an awesome post and something I struggle with telling people with work. You can’t just “diet” and expect it to be a fix you know? It has to be a lifestyle change…and it also has to be for intrinsic reasons..but try telling that to college students.

  5. Kelsey says:

    I love your blog posts… you always inspire me ๐Ÿ™‚ MISS YOU! Hope prep is going well! Can’t wait to see you on stage!!!!

Leave a Reply

