The 28th Year

Posted: April 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

So the first day of being 29 was pretty awesome. Unfortunately it ended with the worst case of insomnia (self imposed in a way…) I’ve had in months.

Needless to say I was not feeling cardio when the alarm went off. But here I am cooling down after 30 minutes. Done and done, zero excuses.

Birthdays in prep are interesting. I’ve dieted through my last four, but yesterday was the best yet. Maybe I’m so used to this lifestyle now or maybe I just want something (top 3 baby!) more than I want a piece of cake? Either way, my day started at the gym. Shoulders, arms, cardio… Grabbed a few groceries on my way home. Had a snack, showered and the bf picked me up.

He met the family. Whoa.

Dinner with the entire fam, then back to town and some dexter on the couch. Chill, relaxed, absolutely no pressure to go out for dinner, drink, be crazy. Exactly what I wanted.

The last year was… More than I ever thought possible since moving back

Atlantics…

20130408-082414.jpg

A summer of family, friends and busting my ass

20130408-082530.jpg

Provincials, my first top five placing and the most amazing award I’ve ever been given.

20130408-082626.jpg

It hasn’t been all roses and sunshine. There has been struggles, bad days and general bullshit. I’ve adjusted to not being quite so selfish and have dated and maintained a relationship through bulking and now prep. It’s been tough, but worth it.

So here begins the last year of my twenties. Seven weeks out from my loftiest goal ever, healthy, happy and ready to see where life goes. I’m done trying to plan every minor detail because it just doesn’t work that way. Life happens when you least expect it and that’s exactly what has happened to me.

It’s taken years to get to where I am right now and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    Just wait until next year. 30 is when life begins, take it from an old lady like me.

    Keep up that focused prep work, you’re doing awesome.

  2. I can’t believe I have been following your blog during your entire year (and more). I know it was an interesting year for you but you really have done amazing things. I won’t believe you when you turn 30. Seriously, you’ll probably get carded until your 90 years old…never a bad thing I suppose.

  3. Donloree says:

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

