It Didn’t Happen In a Day

Posted: May 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

… My um… Softness.

Last week was the bfs birthday. His good friend flew in for 4 days. I was more than ready for any excuse to f-off work and blow off steam.

Tacos, kettle chips, seafood… Of the beer battered and deep fried variety… And beer, you can’t have any of the above without beer.

… And you know, a delightful hangover, accompanied by a hangover breakfast.

Needless to say I woke up Saturday morning feeling overblown and just swollen. I had kept up with my workouts and runs last week but yeah, it wasn’t enough to counteract the excess.

Mentally my first thought always has been, and probably always will be to restrict. With my runs kicking my ass that would 100% lead to an epic binge, so I decided to be smart. I didn’t get squishy overnight, it’s going to take a good two weeks to be “comfortable” with an offseason size I can handle.

So what did I do? Back to a meal plan. Eating what should be right around/slightly under maintenance. Focusing my carbs around my workouts and runs and of course my bedtime oatmeal. Love that. I most likely will have dinner out Saturday or Sunday, but as long as I stay on track until then I’m okay with it.

So far so good. I’m feeling much better, although do have some stomach crankiness from adding mio to nasty tasting filtered water at work. No more of that for me.

If there’s anything I’ve learned it’s that this lifestyle, finding balance, competing…. It all is a process. I’ve come so far from the beginning but know its a never ending battle to squash past habits, but thankfully it’s a battle I am very aware of and accept now, and truthfully feel like I’m winning.

Four weeks until I’m on a beach in a bikini. Potential race date on the calendar. Remembering how much better I feel on real good food versus temporary cravings. I may stumble, but ill never be down and out.

Comments
  1. Marlo says:

    HI love! Its been awhile. Was thinking of you and thought I would drop in and say hi. This post hit home for me. Its kinda hard having guys around sometimes. Prior to my bf diet was no biggie for the most part.. once boys (that we like) enter the picture suddenly going out and spending time with them is more important and fun. I’m probably a good 10-15lbs heavier than i was prior to Ryan but its something I’ve had to learn to embrace. I just try and stay focused on all the awesome things my body CAN do versus how it looks.

Leave a Reply

