Getting the Nutrition On Track

Posted: June 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

Let me tell you a story about Sunday.

The bf and I got up, had a quick snack and ran the nature park. Since I drove we took the “death trap” route home going through a mess of a traffic plan backfire (… That doesn’t bother me since I drove it my whole life). Because of this we passed by Boaz, a sushi/Korean place and well, the sign said all you can eat sundays. After a quick phone call to confirm it was all food not just sushi we made reservations, enjoyed every single bite and spent the rest of the afternoon in a comfortable food coma on the couch watching movies.

This isn’t leading into me binging, feeling gross, all that. In fact I felt full but not gorged and content, but it’s basically me saying yes I’m being active… But I’m not being strict on my diet.

I’ve been planning and packing normal meals during the work week but eating out and chilling on weekends. Upping my running distance left me famished yesterday and I od’d on veggies in an attempt to not eat everything in sight.

… Sadly I paid the price today. I’m bloated, uncomfortable and cut my run short by ten minutes because I thought my stomach was going to just GTFO.

With weight training I could get away with these uncomfortable days… Bouncing around pretending to be a runner? Not so much. So I decided to download an app and start tracking my macros again.

I want to avoid the extreme hunger and track how certain types of food react and help me function. Day one in the books and I realized I’m not eating enough healthy fats and could stand to toss in a few rice cakes with that almond butter I plan to eat.

My schedule changes next week, I’m no longer on this wonky split shift. Ill be working usually 2 or 3 until 10pm, sometimes starting earlier. Ideally I’m going to start running first thing outside and then hitting the gym before work so everything is going to be changing. So for now my goal is just to track what I stuff in my face and how I’m feeling and go from there.

I’ve got a lot of thoughts rambling around about macros and meals and fads in the industry… But for now I’m keeping it simple, basic blueprint style meal set ups, setting up the proper pre and post workout meals to accomplish my goals and yes, I will be keeping up with my carb backloading, especially when I switch to morning runs.

I tend to over think and over complicate everything but after a good long talk with a very knowledgable athlete who I admire greatly I feel confident I know what I’m doing and what I need to stick to. It’s just embracing the learning curve.

Easy enough.

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    Tracking nutrition is super important for athletes – not even for body composition management, but for performance management. As you noted, if you keep track of what you are taking in, you can see how it impacts your runs. What gets measured gets managed, or something like that.

  2. Caren says:

    It’s interesting to read about your departure from weight lifting to focus on running. I have done the exact opposite in my fitness life. I found that running made me ravenous, so I would eat a ton more food. We all know you can’t sweat yourself out of a bad diet and I actually GAINED weight while training for a half marathon, so I retired from running and picked up some iron instead.

    I do miss it sometimes, but I much prefer what I do now. Long distance running is also very catabolic so it can eat away at all that precious muscle you have built!

    Enjoy your new sport, but be mindful of what it does to your body!

    • ihearteggs says:

      While I really appreciate the concern, the whole point of monitoring my macros is to track performance and output. I need to be sure I’m taking in enough calories to fuel not only my workouts but also my running…. But also to remind myself I do have self control and a little hunger from running doesn’t mean I need to eat all the things.

      Running is a side project, my lifting and ongoing health is my number one priority. A few months of tracked running is not going to undo 10+ years of lifting.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. I agree actually with this a lot. It is physically hard to run when bloated and people don’t realize that. I hope you are able to figure out what works for you exactly and then keep on keeping on. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • ihearteggs says:

      Thank you lady! I’m definitely treating this all as a learning experience! Haha

      Sent from my iPhone

      • redkeeney says:

        Agreed… it’s very hard to run bloated! As someone who both lifts and runs, I applaud your new goals. Your lifting goals are spectacular… and I think a 25 min 5k would be awesome. (I enjoy running, but very slowly.) Have fun!

  4. Chuck says:

    Hey! I didn’t know you were carb backloading–just curious, does that go along with intermittent fasting too?

    ps- email me so I can send you my address for the cereal haha!

Leave a Reply

