I Don’t Love Running

Posted: June 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

Shocking title for someone who seems to run an awful lot lately… But it’s true. I don’t love running.

I don’t wake up in the morning thinking “yay!! Run time!!”

Actually 2 hours and a couple of cups of coffee lately I’m still sitting here on the couch in my pjs thinking “will it really matter if I skip it”. Getting out the door is often my biggest challenge. Sure somedays I’m amped up to run, maybe it’s just a perky day, or the bf is coming with me or whatever… But 95% of the time that’s really not the case.

Once I get 5 minutes or so done and my legs loosen up it does get… Easier??…. But I never really feel like I’m on cloud nine running. Well, maybe after I’m done and all that, but mostly I usually just feel numb and like I need a nap.

So why am I putting myself through this? Because I love the challenge. I love pushing myself just a little harder/faster/longer. I like seeing the miles accumulate as I track them on daily mile. I love the change of pace, the new goal, the fact I can literally roll out of bed throw on some shorts and runners and just hit the road… No gym or barbells needed.

It’s simple, it’s uncomplicated. When I tried making my life crazy with training plans the bf gave me the best advice possible.

Just run. Next week, run a little more and a little farther.

What a crazy idea. Some days are better than others, some days I tell myself just get out there and see what happens. Somedays I finish my run and say what’s another mile and keep going.

Maybe ill never completely love running, but one thing will never change… I love a challenge. And that’s what running is to me.

Leave a Reply

