The Big Why

Posted: June 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

More and more frequently people have been asking why I’ve taken up running when you know… I don’t like it.

This question usually follows the rare time I complain about it on twitter, when I show up at work with new running stuff or just anyone really who knows me as “the bodybuilder”.

I have zero intentions of ever becoming a long distance race runner, but yes my mileage has been increasing and some days… Meh but honestly for the most part I’m kind of just in my groove. I don’t hate running, but it’s not natural to me and a huge mental struggle.

So why do it then? Why not just stick to the gym, competing, being a weekend athlete? Why push myself to get off the couch and run in the heat? To add an extra mile? To set another distance/pace goal?

Why not is a better question.

Starting with blueprint had me training more like an athlete than a traditional bodybuilder and I loved that. To me running is just an extension of that. Why should I be a one hit wonder with my activities? I decided it was time to branch out and try something new. While I love competing and there is always a challenge with it, it’s not the same initial struggle it once was. Diet is habit, workouts are routine… I love it but I wanted more.

When I joined my high school rowing team (…. That involved a ton of running) I was pushing 250lbs, out of shape and “running” more than 30 seconds left me wanting to collapse on the sidewalk in an asthma induced coma. But I didn’t. I pushed on and eventually I was able to manage our 5 and 10k loops. Yes, I was the slowest one, but I never stopped I never quit and said I’d never be back. I just quietly struggled along and eventually it got easier.

Back then I really DID hate running.

But now? It’s a love/hate thing. I could do without hill city, the mid morning heat, the awkward tan lines…. But I do enjoy the energy rush after, watching the miles add up and my speed (slightly) increase.

But most of all I love the challenge. I know my body is more than capable, it’s getting my mindset there. Putting one foot in front of the other when is rather call a cab and go home. For all those years ago when I was too sick or too out of shape to run, that’s why I’m doing it. Once upon a time I’d be out of breath walking from my bed to the living room and now I’m running 5-6 miles on the regular.

It’s a pretty empowering thing. That’s why I do it.

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    The best answer to the “why” question is “because it is there.”

  2. I don’t think you need to justify anything about why you are running. People are nosy and they will always ask questions. It’s your life…do what makes you happy.

  3. dawnr1101 says:

    I love that you are doing something new and challenging. It’s all about growing, challenging your body and yourself and loving (and sometimes hating) what you do.

  4. 100% agree with ^^^^ comment! Running has given me the confidence I was lacking for SO long. Am I only a runner? Hell no, but I do it because I can because for too long, I couldn’t.

Leave a Reply

