The Nutritional Puzzle

Posted: November 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’m a creature of habit. I would be 100% ok with eating the same few meals over…. And over… And over again.

Growing up I was a hell of a picky eater, then I started trying different foods and there are very few things I don’t like or won’t eat now (olives… Asparagus… Um… Drawing a blank on anything else!) but I have my favourites/not so favourites.

The best example is pasta. I used to loveeee that stuff. Cannelloni, lots of cheese, Caesar salad… And don’t forget the red wine. But now I can’t even remember the last time I had real pasta, it just has zero appeal. Yet the other day I found myself craving spaghetti squash like nobody’s business.

20131118-202750.jpg

So Saturday night I had a wild and crazy dinner. Veggies, lean beef, sauce, squash.

Just admitting that makes me feel slightly “disordered” if you know what I mean… But it is what it is.

Instead of very (very) slowly attempting to add calories back into my life post show, I did some reading and decided to jump straight back up to my (assumed) maintenance level in an attempt to beat any urges to binge. And you know what? It seems to be working.

Admittedly I am still eating the same old same old, but have branched out with dinners (aka the non-tupper wear meals) by adding in things like spaghetti squash, varied veggies and meats… And some new items like a current fav, ezikiel English muffins with homemade sugar free jam (along side whatever else I’ve for going on)

20131118-203512.jpg

Surprise… Surprise… A fritz photobomb when the freezer door opens.

Daily meals for work are just easier when I stick to my usuals, much easier to grab and go and not have to put much thought out there, but the dinner switch ups are at least some progress from the extreme food habits.

I’m still on the fence about my abrupt jump to maintenance. I do feel soft and… Big… But I do still fit into my skinny jeans. It’s just the head game. There’s always going to be the part of me that has a tough day mentally and will start with the “cut back the carbs… Skip your almond butter… Add in cardio” but I know that’s not the answer. It’s the quick fix that I know doesn’t work.

It’s time to settle in and focus on the positive, make the right food choices… While still enjoying life. It feels really awesome to know I have the energy to be increasing weights at the gym while at the same time feeling really confident in my base building runs.

To me this is a day by day project. Noticing the small details around my workouts and runs with what I’ve eaten and recovered with. It’s far from perfect, but that’s what I love about the journey, it’s a constant evolution.

Comments
  1. Domi says:

    Your spaghetti squash dinner has me drooling. That is all.

  2. allieksmith says:

    Ain’t nothing wrong with liking spaghetti squash more than pasta!!

    I’m proud of you for sticking through with maintenance and fighting against the head games!

Leave a Reply

