Picking a Race

Posted: January 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

So there’s only one half marathon in my hometown. I did the 5miler of this as my first race, frequently run parts of the course and just… Have no desire to pay money to do so for real.

20140121-134627.jpg

Flashback much?!?

I was hoping of entering the fredericton half but unfortunately the date is not looking good.

I’ve been back and forth on other local-ish options and to be honest I’m not getting anywhere. Enter last night where I was given the request to start looking for destination type races. Wine country, beach, anything….

So my question to you… How do you pick a race, and any suggestions for travel options?!?

Comments
  1. I would look for a southern spring race. There are a lot on the East Coast…the Plattsburgh half in Plattsburgh, NY is one of my favorites and closer to you. Half-marathons.net could provide you with a nice in depth list!

  2. Tracy says:

    I completed 8 half marathons and 1 full…and only 1was local. I live in Ohio but I went to to Kentucky, Indiana, Florida, N. Carolina, and California. I LOVE making weekend get always out of it. One thing I learned, hydrate while traveling. Even though you don’t want to constantly stop at rest areas or bother your neighbor on the plane…do it…you’ll feel much better after. Use compression socks for recovery. I try to look for events that fall on a long holiday weekend or at a time when I’m off work. I just did a few events at Disney World and loved them! I would definitely recommend checking the runDisney site for future events. Good luck!!

    • ihearteggs says:

      Thank you for the advice!! We have very few local races and my bf is all for weekend trips (his last half was Vegas!), so it’s definitely looking like that’s the plan!!

Leave a Reply

