It’s Not Cardio, It’s Running

Posted: January 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

I admit I’ve been a bum about treadmill runs lately. They’ve been shorter than I should be doing and just off… Especially since my bout with that nasty cold.

It doesn’t help I got in two outdoor runs last week before the deep freeze returned.

Regardless, bitching about it doesn’t make it any better and when someone asked if I was going to the gym last night all I could think of was how an hour prior I was all hyped up to go, but in that moment I was dreading “cardio”.

As someone who has spent the better part of my adult life dieting, prepping or bulking… Anything that makes me sweat in a gym is cardio. That little evil thing necessary to fit in my skinny jeans, lean out for a show or just not blow up. But for the first time in as long as I can remember I’m not doing this to burn more calories/lose weight/punish myself, I’m doing it to achieve a goal that doesn’t centre around vanity.

I’m my head running on a treadmill was “cardio” but running outside was “running”.

Huh?

I kept kicking that thought around in my head walking over to the gym tonight and once I got changed I told myself just run. 2 miles… 3 miles… Just stop viewing it as a punishment but just another step towards the ultimate goal.

And so I did just that. I slapped a magazine over the display and just ran. 5 minutes easy. 5 minutes slightly less easy. I ignored the urge to compare myself to speedy Magee two treadmills over and just ran. My legs were still sore from Monday nights leg workout but after about ten minutes they loosened up and at least hurt less

In the end. Four miles done that didn’t leave me hating life or even miserable. I just felt accomplished.

While I’ve been focusing on changing my food mindset from dieting to fuel, I guess I should also be considering the mental side of running vs cardio. Add that to the list of 2014 goals I guess.

Comments
  1. That makes sense. Honestly this winter is all about just logging consistent miles. It’s hard (especially up there) to train through. You will make it through this winter and have an awesome Spring half marathon. Don’t feel like you are alone being burnt out. I know I certainly am.

Leave a Reply

