Training January 20-26, 2014

Posted: January 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

Another week…. Not as bad as the last. Definitely starting to get back into a groove and even some post-work runs in the evenings. Progress, not perfection is all I’m gunning for.

Monday:

Preworkout: 1 mile run
Post workout: 1 mile run.

Main Workout: 5X5 Leg press
Accessory Work: Hamstrings, Back, Biceps

Tuesday: 

Main Workout: 5X5 bench press
Accessory work: Back, shoulders, Triceps

Wednesday: 

PM Run: 4 miles treadmill.

Nothing fancy. Just plugged along. Not much for evening workouts, especially on the treadmill but with my early overtime and the gym never opening when it’s supposed to I just don’t have time in the AM to comfortably run/get ready. Making due and getting it done.

Thursday: 

Main Workout: Reverse Hack Squat 3X5, 2X12
Accessory work: Quads, back, biceps.

This should have been a 1RM deadlift day. I was not feeling up to it and I wasn’t willing to deal with the inevitable sore lower back during my runs afterwards. Look at me being an intelligent athlete.

Friday: 

Full rest day. Worth it.

Saturday: 

Preworkout: 1 mile
Postworkout: 4 miles

This run was weird. I just felt like it so I kept going. 3 miles fairly hard, last mile fairly easy. Watched an infomercial for the NutriBullet. Still don’t understand why people would want to drink all those calories instead of you know… eating and enjoying them. Oh well.

Main workout: 2RM overhead press, 3X10 press
Accessory work: extra shoudlers, chest, back, triceps

Sunday: 

Full Rest day

Total Miles: 11
Total Workouts: 4

Workout wise this is exactly what I was going for. Four workouts, solid, soreness, smart training and feeling good. Mileage wise I’m okay with it. I’m building it back up and (finally) feeling almost 100% after that stupid cold. Very happy as is hitting double digits, ideally will be closer to 15 miles per week on average until I’m brave enough to face the great outdoors. (yes, I’m a wimp who won’t run outside during a blizzard. sue me)

Comments
  1. It honestly sounds like a pretty good week to me. I’m glad you got all your lifting and your miles look good too. Have you decided on a half marathon yet?

  2. Victoria says:

    I love how you integrate your lifting and running.

  3. Looks like a great week to me!

Leave a Reply

