Unexpected Run

Posted: February 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

Yesterday was tough getting up. As much as I’m a morning person I really struggled. I even caught a later bus to be able to sit down and enjoy my coffee on the couch.

Yeah, one of those days.

Surprisingly I headed to the gym after work full of energy. I knocked out an easy mile warmup, nailed my chest workout (even with my ridiculously sore triceps) and was ready to put up some miles.

…. Only every single treadmill was being used. I sat. I waited. I texted Jason to whine. No one was giving one up. It had been really nice when I walked to the store at lunch so I texted one more time saying screw this, I’m going home to run outside.

Which, let’s be honest, by the time I was walking from the bus stop home was code for “I’m going home to eat and sit on the couch, then beat myself up for not running”

I walked in the door and still had my gym sports bra and long sleeve nike shirt on… So I swapped my lulus for tights, added a thermal sweater and windbreaker… Topped it off with my hat and mittens and ummm

20140205-070607.jpg
(Obligatory gps watch photo)

I told myself just do 2 miles easy for a total of 3 for the day. But the first mile flew by, and the second felt even better. Mile three was my fastest and over a minute faster than my average pace Sunday. Frozen right butt/hamstring cramped slowed down mile four significantly but I finished with a dumb “so that’s what good running feels like” smile on my face.

It felt easy and almost natural. I wasn’t pushing myself yet the pace was quick-ish (for me in this winter wonderland). Needless to say, very happy with last night, both in the run itself and the fact I ran at night… When it was well below my “happy winter temperature”

Now to just cross my fingers today’s storm goes the way of Sundays (as in it ends up missing us altogether) so I can keep this outdoor stuff up.

Comments
  1. I am happy for you. Nice work and I hope today goes as well. 🙂

  2. allieksmith says:

    You go Becca! Way to get it done!!

Leave a Reply

