It Happens to Everyone Else

Posted: February 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

…. But it will never happen to me.

Please tell me I’m not alone in thinking that?

To me, any type of running injury happens to, well, real runners. People who run a lot… And I mean a lot. People who run fast. People who run races. Or people who do the above without properly fuelling/recovering/etc.

Not the chick averaging only10-15 miles a week and resting more than I probably should. Needless to say I was a little confused to why my left foot started hurting Wednesday afternoon. I kind of ignored it and thought it was just an ache and enjoyed my usual rest day. Thursday…. Pain. Second rest day. Friday… More pain. Decided it was my shoes and swapped my work Toms for my nikes. Just as much pain.

I mentioned it to Jason and didn’t give much detail. He said to rest, so I did. I worked overtime Saturday instead of going for my long run. I spent that night on the couch watching movies. Sunday was much of the same.

When Jason got home from his track meet I headed over for a movie night. He sat me down, looked at my foot, made me describe the pain and didn’t even blink in saying it’s tendinitis and at least 2 weeks off running.

Umm what?

This is where my figure prep mentality kicked in and I figured I could just suck up the pain and run. Two weeks no running and no weight bearing exercises? Wtf am I going to do with myself? I’ve always just put aside the hurt and trained. When you’re on a mission towards a show date something’s you just do. Yes, I’ve got better at listen and resting as I’ve competed more, but the thought of two weeks off….

There’s no need for googling what would happen if I ignore the rest right now. I’ve been warned of the details and am well aware if I continue running right now I’m basically putting myself in a boot with a stress fracture… So yeah.

It sucks. It’s only been since Tuesday and I’m already (oddly) missing running and getting a little frustrated. I admit this is obviously the best time of year for this to happen, it helps me avoid the treadmill when it’s freezing, but yeah. Sucks.

So yay! Who’s for lots of upper body training?!?

Comments
  1. UGH I hate to hear this. I hope it goes away quickly but you are doing the right thing by resting. You can run through muscle pains but in your foot it won’t be pleasant and it will honestly just make you feel miserable and hate running more.

  2. Tara says:

    Ugh I’m going through something similar at the moment. I jinxed myself by saying that I never get injured, and yet here I am. My problem is in my glutes/back which means I’m limited to bicep and tricep exercises – oh boy.

  3. Bummer Bec. Jacked shoulders are highly underrated though. Hoping for a speedy recovery.

  4. John Gunn says:

    Injuries happen to everyone. You can try to limit risk by finding the most effective ways of exercising, but they’re bound to happen. I tweaked my right ankle by wearing an older pair of boots with arch support (after the last year of working out/walking/running practically barefoot), and then ended up overcompensating to my other foot doing some sprints and box jumps…next thing you know, bruised bone in my foot.

    It sucks, but just give it some ice and time, you’ll be good 🙂

Leave a Reply

