Returning with 100 Miles

Posted: August 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

There comes a point where blogging has become so sporadic and then non-existent that there’s no point in “sorry-not-sorry” excuses and big huge back stories.Let’s be real here anyway, if I got into all of that in my first blog back it would kill a good weeks worth of life update blog posts…. so if you’re expecting that, move along.

And if you’re new here… or just need a refresher… here’s the short form details.

  • “retired” figure competitor
  • occasional runner
  • East Coast living
  • wannabe world traveller
  • big goal chasing

That’s the easiest way to put it… and since I never like to do anything in order, I’ll expand on the last point first. 

At the end of June I was in a major running rut. I had a couple of good months post foot injury and then… Fail. I was over it. I decided to declare the goal of 75 miles in July to get myself back on track. Admittedly that was kind of a big goal for the way I was going at the time, but I’ve never been one to half ass things. 

months

With one day to go, I hit my goal. I chose to cross train July 31, 2014 and ponder my next move. I had a very slow first two weeks of July so I knew I could do a lot more. After thinking and talking it over I decided I was probably certifiably crazy and decided on 100 miles in August. 

I’ve had a very solid start to the month, 13 miles down in the first three days. With running I definitely tend to be an all in… then all out type so keeping up this momentum and moving along could be a challenge, but I think I can handle it. 

So that’s where I’ll leave it at for now. What better way to return to blogging than declaring a lofty goal and committing to following through with it…. and writing about the ups and downs of the process. 

Feel free to tell me I’m crazy.. or what you’d like to see here on the blog… or that you’d prefer I just faded back into non-existent writing. I can handle it. 

Comments
  1. Hollie says:

    This post made me smile to the power of 10,000 suns. I just enjoy your updates and ramblings because they are always so open and honest.

  2. Lisa says:

    I love your love for running now. Since you were never a fan of it! It’s kind of an addiction =) Glad to see you’re back!!

  3. Domi says:

    Dude, I used to love your blog and figured you had moved on from the blog-world for good! Good to have you back for now 🙂 Keep us posted on the 100 miles…definitely crazy, but I’m sure you can do it.

  4. Susan says:

    Have followed your blog for a while, though don’t think I ever commented. Glad your back! I enjoy your honest, it-is-what-it-is perspective. Good luck with the running goals!

Leave a Reply

