Fit In My Pants Goal

Posted: August 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

Maybe it’s just me, but I tend to see a lot of bloggers who are clearly eating/training/working towards weight loss, but when questioned about it, they laugh it off, deny that is the goal and say they are sooooo body proud and happy with who they are…. then suddenly 3 months later “look at the new me!" posts start popping up, before and afters, how I did it, why I did it, you know “I’m REALLY being honest this time, I said I wasn’t happy with my body but now I totes am LOLZ”

Over it.

Which is why today, I’m choosing honesty.

To an outsider looking at me (and my lifestyle) I think they would say I’m average. Not too big, not too small. I eat healthy, belong to a gym (which I frequent) and I run on the regular. In a way, I feel like I can say those things are true, that now I can look in the mirror and not see the 250lb girl, but the everyday average one I am now.

With my job I luck out that I can wear yoga pants and tshirts, or if I’m feeling fancy maxi dresses/skirts (…. crotchless yoga pants). It’s very easy to be comfortable in whatever Lululemon or Nike outfit I pick out. It’s normal, it’s natural, it’s spandex. Sadly while the 9-5 is comfort, sometimes you just want to put on the nice jeans and heels and go out to dinner. This part leaves me feeling like a busted can of biscuits and pretty down on myself.

While I have no desire to go back to the ultra tiny, prep mode craziness of a size 0, I do feel like to be comfortable with myself and be confident and not stressed on my upcoming trip (which will involve wearing real girl clothes for 2 weeks) I need to clean things up. Admittedly I started in July, I increased my mileage to 75/month, I did an interval cross training session or two and slowly started cleaning up my diet. With all of this came a bit of obsession with the scale. I told myself I’d start with 5 pounds… then to go to 10 pounds… I know deep down that was driving me nuts. Sure, I did succeed with 5 lbs in July, but I’m kind of over the numbers game. It’s a head game and an unhealthy one at that for me.

So with that being said, I’m choosing to focus on a pair of green cargo pants I own. They are comfy, casual, go with everything…. and will be perfect for traveling. I have just over three months until we are on our way overseas and I know I can make this work.

The simple action plan:

  • Continue running. 100 miles in August, will decide on September/October goals when needed
  • At least 1 treadmill interval run per week.
  • The usual 4 weight workouts a week. Nothing fancy, in and out in 45 minutes
  • Continue to work on my diet choices. Monday-Friday is easy… weekends have been a bit off. If I can continue my trend of improving weekends I can easily still enjoy a burger out or movie popcorn if I wish. I refuse to give into strict “rules”

What you won’t see is side my side comparisons, mirror selfies, obsession or even really much mention of it. No pressure, no self absorbed crazy.

Really, nothing fancy, complicated or hard. Just putting one foot in front of the other and improving myself. Fitting into the pants for Korea will be a great reward, but at the end of these three months knowing I was consistent and dedicated to my workouts and lifestyle will have a positive effect on my mental health regardless.

So there’s my honest Friday post. No hidden tricks or big secrets here. Just one more step in the right direction.

What’s your biggest motivator for working out? Health? weight loss? Goals?

Comments
  1. Domi says:

    Wow, love that candor and honesty. Sounds like you’ve got a solid plan. My biggest motivators are, in order: health (heart disease runs in the fam), habit (I want to keep the habits of regular training and good diet because I worked damn hard to make them habits in the first place), and aesthetics (I want to look leaner, because I like that look better).

Leave a Reply

