Better Than Any Trophy

Posted: November 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

So I don’t have full results yet. All I know is I wasn’t top 3.

Before heading out on stage for the night show Jody sat down with me and said I looked like I fit right into the lineup and he thought I looked about 3rd or 4th.

Lets be real here, if I get 4th or even 5th I would be jumping up and down excited.

I want to give a full show recap… Once I get full results. So today I’m going to tell you what is 100x better than any trophy I could have won.

20121113-103159.jpg

…. You know, my roomie for the weekends coffee stash.

Ok, no. Time to be serious.

Friday morning I got my nails did (shellac French manicure for 16$!!!) and my second spray tan. I ran a few errands, did my last workout and headed home. I showered, double checked my packed bags and swung by java moose for a coffee before hitting the road.

While in line for coffee an email popped up that the team was meeting at 5pm to checkin and to present a “special award”. Having no idea what was going on, I was the first to arrive and chilled out.

Once everyone else arrived Jody pulled out a box and explained that they wanted to do a yearly blueprint athlete of the year award.

He started his story about how this years winner almost didn’t join blueprint because she was a demanding OCD crazy lady.

20121113-103748.jpg

That was kind of a dead giveaway.

Shockingly I was able to not have a typical becca moment and didn’t cry, although I came close.

For someone who questioned every detail of my first plan, and then said screw it, ill give it a month and see how it goes… Here I am, only a few months short of my one year blueprint anniversary…. The newest sponsored athlete on the team.

20121113-104028.jpg

So I didn’t walk away from the stage with a 6$ trophy… But I did walk away from the weekend with an honour bigger than I ever imagined. To be recognized and rewarded by a blind panel of judges would be nice… But to be given an award by my coaches for the effort I put into my training and lifestyle day in, day out is worth so much more for me.

20121113-104305.jpg

I’ve always said this journey was never about winning to me, if that’s all that’s important I’m going to be one miserable athlete.

To have an amazing team beside me who can talk me down, get two more reps and 5 more pounds out of me, and share this crazy lifestyle with is what it’s all about for me. Pushing myself and encouraging others is all I ever wanted. Yes, “just one show” has turned into so much more, especially since joining blueprint.

Having Jody and Julie backstage and In the gym supporting and believing in me even though I’m not a genetic freak and still have a ways to go means more to me than I could ever begin to explain.

20121113-104810.jpg

Knowing they’re proud of my accomplishments and recognize my passion for this lifestyle is better than any trophy I could ever win.

Before I even stepped on stage Saturday I knew nothing could top the honour I was given the night before. I’m still in a bit of shock and riding the high of this news.

I’ve got a long way to go and big dreams and goals to accomplish, but knowing I’ve got my team in my corner makes it all seem possible and attainable.

So it’s back to my meal plan and the gym. It’s time to improve and move forward. I can honestly say I’ve never been more excited to continue on this path I’ve started down.

If that’s not a lesson in following your dreams no matter what the judges say or how many negative comments you get, I don’t know what is.

Comments
  1. Caren says:

    Congratulations girl!! that’s so much better than the trophy!!!

  2. Congrats Becca! I’m so glad that you were rewarded for the hard work that everyone knows that you put in. You looked amazing and you keep getting better. Keep it up. Proud of you!

  3. yay!!!congrats chica!!!
    YOU have always been the trophy!!!!
    😀

  4. aw I’m so happy for you! that is a great award to get and you look great!

  5. I am so happy for you and dayumm girl you deserved that award. Holy moly how awesome! I cannot wait to see where the next chapter of your live goes and I still think you deserve first place (duh!).

  6. Jess says:

    So happy congratulations!!! You definitely deserve it and have worked so hard.

  7. Tara says:

    Congrats, Becca!! You are awesome and I can’t wait to see the show pics 🙂

  8. congratulations becca, you look amazing!

  9. Adrian says:

    Well done Becca, looking forward to seeing the update

Leave a comment